Honours and Awards

2010 Recipients

Family Physician of the Year

The Saskatchewan Chapter, College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) announced today that Saskatoon family physician, Dr. Carla Eisenhauer is the recipient of the Saskatchewan Family Physician of the Year Award for 2010. Dr. Eisenhauer will also be honored by the College of Family Physicians of Canada as one of ten Canadian family physicians (one from each province) to receive the CFPC’s national award – the Reg L. Perkin Award. Together, they acknowledge excellence in family medicine. Nominated by patients, colleagues, community members and each CFPC Provincial Chapter, the award recipients are honoured for their outstanding dedication and achievements.

The Saskatchewan Family Physician of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Eisenhauer on Friday, September 24, 2010 at the Sheraton Cavalier Hotel, Saskatoon. The national award will be presented at the CFPC’s Family Medicine Forum in Vancouver, on Friday, October 15, 2010.

Dr. Eisenhauer received her medical degree from Queen’s University, Kingston in 1979 and completed her family medicine residency at Queen’s, and Certification with the CFPC, in 1981.

Dr. Eisenhauer has practiced at the Saskatoon Community Clinic beginning in 1981 and from 2000-2005 was the Head of the Medical Group at the clinic. In 2005, Dr. Eisenhauer began working with the Health Quality Council Collaborative. One of her major projects was to improve access to family physician care and was recognized provincially and nationally for her work. She was recognized as Teacher of the Year in 2004 by the College of Medicine. Dr. Eisenhauer recently left her practice at the Clinic for health reasons.

Dr. Eisenhauer advocated for her patients in the areas of mental health, women’s health, senior’s health, obstetrics, the impoverished as well as general health and wellness. Over the years she has been a teacher and mentor to many medical students.

“Dr. Eisenhauer is an excellent choice for Saskatchewan Family Physician of the Year as her dedication to patients, medical students, her colleagues and the Saskatoon community exemplify the very best qualities of a family physician,” states Dr. Morris Markentin, President of the Saskatchewan Chapter, CFPC.

Dr. Eisenhauer is highly regarded by her colleagues and patients. Dr. Leane Bettin, nominator for the Reg L. Perkin Award, states, “Dr. Eisenhauer is held in high esteem. She has a reputation with her coworkers and patients, as an exceptionally knowledgeable and skillful clinician. She is committed to patient and community involvement in health care. Dr. Eisenhauer recognizes and teaches the central importance of the patient/doctor relationship.”

“Patients repeatedly tell me that Carla is one of the best, if not the best physician they ever worked with,” says Ingrid Larson, Member and Public Relations Director at the Saskatoon Community Clinic. “I hear things like: she was a champion for me and my family; she advocated for us when we needed support; she managed my care efficiently and compassionately; she knows me so well and is so kind to me that I don’t know what I will do without her.”

The Dr. Michael Krochak Award

The RxFiles, Saskatoon for their contribution to Family Medicine in Saskatoon.

CFPC Award of Excellence

Dr. Leo Lanoie, Prince Albert, CFPC Award of Excellence for Work with Patients with HIV, Addictions and Pain Management in the Community of Prince Albert.

Dr. Cyprian Enweani, Saskatoon, CFPC Award of Excellence for His Role in the Development of Sport Medicine in Saskatoon.