Honours and Awards

2017 Recipients

Saskatchewan Family Physician of the Year Award

Dr. Jennifer KuzmiczDr. Jennifer Kuzmicz was born the third of six children in Winnipeg, MB.  She grew up on a farm near Candiac, SK with her parents and siblings (4 brothers and 1 sister).  She attended primary and high school in Montmartre, SK; completed a BA in Political Science in 1993 from St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, NS; completed science and math pre-requisites at the University of Regina in Regina, SK in 1995; she attended medical school and pre-clinical classes at the University of Saskatchewan; completed her internship in Regina; and became an MD in 1999.  She completed post-graduate training in the Regina Family Medicine Residency Program in 2001 and earned her Canadian Certification in Family Medicine that year as well.

Dr. Kuzmicz joined the Academic Family Medicine practice in 2002.

Dr. Kuzmicz has approximately 750 active patients.  In addition to her teaching practice and outpatient work, she maintains use and privileges to the Family Medicine and Palliative Care Units and practices low risk obstetrics.  She was the Clerkship Coordinator for the Family Medicine Regina site and since February 1, 2013, she has been the Regina Family Medicine Residency Training Coordinator.  She received her Fellowship in Family Medicine from the CCFP in 2014.

Dr. Kuzmicz and her husband, Travis Sulewski, have been married since 2002 and have 2 children; Lucas is 10 years old and Veronica is 8 years old.

CFPC Awards of Excellence

Dr. Razawa MaroofDr. Razawa Maroof

Dr. Razawa Maroof is a full time family physician with a special interest in refugee and immigrant health care at the Regina Community Clinic.  She is very passionate about patient care for this vulnerable population.  From her own personal experience, she is deeply aware of the difficulties and stigma that patients face when moving to a new country.

Dr. Maroof is also an associate professor with the College of Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan.  Her primary interest is teaching students and residents about refugee and immigrant health in Saskatchewan.  Dr. Maroof received the Community Teacher of the Year award in 2013.

Dr. Maroof was born and raised in the norther Iraqi city of Sulaimania and arrived in Canada in 1996 as a political refugee to escape the genocide in Iraq.  She is Kurd; is now a Canadian citizen; and is fluent in Kurdish, Arabic and English.

CFPC Awards of Excellence

Dr. Leane BettinDr. Leane Bettin

After completing medical school and residency at the University of Saskatchewan, Leane went on to practice family medicine at the Saskatoon Community Clinic. She provides comprehensive primary health care services within an interdisciplinary team approach.

After serving as Medical Director at the clinic, Leane responded to health care needs identified in the community by expanding her services to include transgender health and abortion care. In addition to clinical practice, Leane is an active teacher and advocate for the populations she serves.

Leane balances medical work with her artistic and creative passions of painting, gardening, and being a Mom to teenage daughter.

Dr Michael Krochak Award
For Contributions to Family Medicine in Saskatchewan

Dr. Paula Schwann Dr. Paula Schwann is a family physician in Saskatoon.

Dr. Schwann completed medical school at the University of Saskatchewan in 1987 and obtained her fellowship with the College of Family Physicians in 2004.

Dr. Schwann has been with the same practice since 1989 and practiced full service family medicine including an active obstetrical practice until 2015.

Paula has been married to David since 1984 and they have two sons together. In her spare time, Dr. Schwann enjoys running (has completed the Queen City Half Marathon 7 times), cycling and yoga.

Dr. Schwann has been a very active member of the SCFP and CFPC, and is currently the past-president of the Chapter.  Paula is also a member of the SCFP ASA planning committee.

Family Medicine Teacher of the Year

Dr. Brandon Thorpe

Dr. Brandon Thorpe practices family medicine in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan.  Dr. Thorpe’s practice includes privileges in Medicine, Surgery, Paediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Emergency Medicine, and Intensive Care.

Dr. Thorpe is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan. He is also a resident preceptor to FHHR Family Medicine Residency program and a Clinical Field Assessor for SIPPA, CPD and the College of Medicine.  Dr. Thorpe also instructs B.T.L.S. AND A.C.L.S. programs.

Dr. Thorpe is the chair of the SMA Health Information Committee, member of the EMR Co-management Committee, chair of the EMR Master Standing Agreement Committee and a member of the Provincial Emergency Services Practice Committee.